The Legal Advocate

A blog brought to you by the national institute for trial advocacy

May 2013 Executive Director’s Letter: NITA Announces Annual Award Winners for 2012 Teaching Year

Posted On By
Karen M. Lockwood

Karen M. Lockwood

NITA is thrilled to announce the 2012 winners of NITA’s three awards honoring outstanding contributors to its mission!  Please join us in congratulating each of our winners:

  • James R. Gailey, Miami Beach, FL, winner of the 2012 Robert Keeton Award for Outstanding service as a NITA Faculty Member (recognizing exceptional work as an instructor);
  • John T. Baker, Denver, CO, winner of the 2012 Robert Oliphant Award for Outstanding Service to NITA (recognizing service to NITA through program administration, volunteer service, and other participation that enhances NITA’s Mission); and
  • Prof. Barbara Barron, Hempstead, NY, winner of the 2012 Prentice Marshall Faculty Award for the Development of Innovative Teaching Methods with NITA (recognizing creativity in program development or teaching methodology).


In a year when the number of nominations doubled from the year before, the NITA Awards committee made hard choices among highly qualified nominees.

Mr. Gailey, of James R. Gailey & Associates, PA, earned praise for his focus and availability to NITA program participants. Nominators stated, “He readily volunteers to give demonstrations – demonstrations that are by the book. In all the years, he has never once overplayed it.”  And, “Jim has always been a ‘go-to guy.’ [Y]ou could call Jim at the last minute if you were in a jam….He always makes himself available.”

Mr. Baker, who completed his work as Executive Director of NITA in late 2012 after three years of dedicated service, now leads the Colorado Attorney Mentoring Program under the auspices of the Colorado Supreme Court. Members of the nominating committee commented, “We know of no one who has sacrificed so much for the organization”.

Ms. Barron, Professor of Law at Hofstra University School of Law, is singled out for her creativity in designing public and international programs program schedules. She regularly demonstrates creativity and flexibility with her planning and execution, and in bringing new methods into play. The committee noted that her work in crafting drills that enhance the learning experience is exceptional.

The NITA Awards recognize outstanding work by members of our family of Program Directors, Team Leaders, and general instructors. These people labor for NITA by working on Public Programs, Custom Programs, and Public Service Programs. They are authors, teachers, and administrators.  Each award is named after one of the pioneers of NITA who exemplified the nature of the specific award.

This year’s Awards Committee was comprised of Mark Caldwell (NITA staff and committee chair), Doris Cheng (2011 Keeton Awardee), Michael Dale (NITA Program Director), Allen Snyder (2011 Oliphant Awardee), Geraldine Sumter (NITA Board), and Wendy Velez (2011 Marshall Awardee). The committee considered all of the nominations and submitted its recommendations to me for final selection.

The NITA family is filled with exceptional people who regularly do exceptional things. Based on the work throughout 2012, we recognize these three special people for all they have done for NITA.



Karen M. Lockwood

Executive Director

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NITA’s team of practicing lawyers, professors and judges from around the nation dedicates its efforts to the training and development of skilled and ethical legal advocates to improve the adversarial justice system.

NITA’s Goals are to:

  • Promote justice through effective and ethical advocacy.
  • Train and mentor lawyers to be competent and ethical advocates in pursuit of justice.
  • Develop and teach trial advocacy skills to support and promote the effective and fair administration of justice.
Feature Products


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: